This city

The walls of this city remind me of my time long ago;
my time and my life that I used to lead so well
It reminds me of the friends that are now away,
the ones that never left my heart but who might not think of my name

This café, these walls and these tables with these chairs,
sort of break my heart by only just being there
My music from years ago, it makes my heart ache,
although not in a bad way, it just helps me take a break

I thought I would never leave which now terrifies me,
there is so much in this world that I’ve still got left to see
These walls and these streets, these cafés and those sheets
it’s all smaller than I remembered, not enough to fulfil my needs

Leave a Reply

