My love in the sunlight

I don’t know if it’s the way your eyes glisten with the little streaks of sunlight pushing through the curtains
or the way your breath warms my skin
or the way your lips caress my shoulder.

I don’t know if it’s the sound of your voice,
the whisper that makes its way into my bones.
My achy, tired bones that only your words can lift.

But oh, how you lift me up.

Up from the puddle of tears that turned into a lake that turned into a sea,
I tried to swim and I tried to breathe, you were there – you saved me.

You grasped my body, you lifted me up.

Up, up, up. 

Up you lifted me; to the skies, to play with the sun and then when the darkness came,
to dance with the moon, to dance with the stars.

You are my strength and you are my love.

My love; I breathe with you.

Leave a Reply

