The person you thought I could not be

I’ve become the person
you thought I could not be

I’ve done the things
you said I wasn’t brave enough to do

I found my true self in the arms of others,
once I had decided I wouldn’t let myself be smothered

I gave so much to myself,
I forgave myself

For myself I provided love,
for myself I provided life;
the kind I needed
to be able to put down that metaphorical knife

I asked the Universe for help, I pleaded
to grow 
into the person I now know –
the version of me who exceeded the old me
and made her take a bow

Sometimes I look back but then I run
for the things you said I couldn’t,
but have now done

Leave a Reply

